Aberdeen FC Women

20 Clubs Join New Scottish Women’s Premier League

Yesterday (25 May 2022) saw the first Annual General Meeting of the Scottish Women’s Premier League under the responsibility of the Scottish Professional Football League.

SWPL1 has been expanded to 12 teams, with SWPL 2 consisting 8 teams as follows:


  • Aberdeen FC
  • Celtic FC
  • Dundee United FC
  • Glasgow City FC
  • Glasgow Women FC
  • Hamilton Academicals FC
  • Heart of Midlothian FC
  • Hibernian FC
  • Motherwell FC
  • Partick Thistle
  • Rangers FC
  • Spartans FC


  • Boroughmuir Thistle FC
  • East Fife FC
  • Gartcairn FC
  • Kilmarnock FC
  • Montrose FC
  • Queens Park FC
  • St Johnstone FC
  • Stirling University FC

Fiona McIntyre, Interim Managing Director of the SWPL, commented: “This is an historic day for Scottish women’s football.

“I am delighted to welcome the first 20 clubs to the new league and to congratulate the first club-appointed directors on their election to the board of the SWPL.

“It is important to recognise all the hard work that has taken place to get us to this place. Scottish women’s football can now look forward with confidence as a result of that hard work, and the commitment of so many people over so many years.”

Other Articles

Aberdeen FCFixtures
Premier Sports Cup
Scottish League Cup Draw
Aberdeen FCFixtures